Thornhill

Thornhill

Parallel plotlines, one told in text and one in art, inform each other as a young girl unravels the mystery of a ghost next door.
Mary is an orphan at the Thornhill Institute for Children at the very moment that it's closing down for good. But when a bully goes too far, Mary's revenge will have a lasting effect on the bully, on Mary, and on Thornhill itself.

Years later, Ella moves to a new town where she has a perfect view of the dilapidated, abandoned Thornhill Institute. Determined to befriend the mysterious, evasive girl she sees there, Ella resolves to unravel Thornhill's history and uncover its secrets.

Ella's story is told through striking, bold art; Mary's is told through diary entries. Each informs the other until the two eventually intersect to reveal the truth behind Thornhill's shadowy past, once and for all. Strikingly told and masterfully illustrated, Pam Smy bends genres and expectations alike.

Title:Thornhill
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

About Pam Smy

Pam Smy studied Illustration at Cambridge School of Art, part of Anglia Ruskin University, where she now lectures part-time. Pam has illustrated books by Conan Doyle (The Hound of the Baskervilles), Julia Donaldson (Follow the Swallow) and Kathy Henderson (Hush, Baby, Hush!), among others. She lives in Cambridge.


    Thornhill Reviews

  • Jesse (JesseTheReader)

    I'm kind of bummed out by this one. Maybe I need to let it sit for a little bit before I make a full opinion on it, but at this point I'm feeling severely underwhelmed. I was hoping for a less predict...

  • Mischenko

    To see the full review, please visit https://readrantrockandroll.com/2017/...I’ve been pondering about what to say about this book for days. It took me awhile to see how I felt about the book and I ...

  • Bookdragon Sean

    Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Coraline, this story is haunting, mysterious and touching. Mary is a unique child; she's introverted and very talented, spending most of her time by herself creating ...

  • karen

    an oddly liminal book: somewhere in-between novel and graphic novel, somewhere in-between YA and middle grade, somewhere in-between me liking it and me being indifferent towards it. as a designed phys...

  • Hannah Greendale

    Click here to watch a video review of this book on my channel, From Beginning to Bookend. Thornhill blends a wordless graphic novel with a narrative written in prose to convey a story that tackles dar...

  • April (Aprilius Maximus)

    Creeeeeeeepy. Loved the mix of illustrations and diary entries!...

  • Nat

    “We are the voiceless ones.”Parallel stories set in different times, one told in prose and one in pictures, converge as a girl unravels the mystery of the abandoned Thornhill Institute next door.1...

  • Simon

    So while this book isn't really aimed at my age group I still thought Thornhill was pretty blooming brilliant and deliciously spooky. As someone who loves a big old creepy building this tale of two yo...

  • Erin

    Hurt People, Hurt Other People. Thornhill was not scary to me as an adult but it probably would be to the kids in age demographic it was written for. Thornhill is two stories, the first story is about...

  • Figgy

    You guys... I have shivers.This book is beautiful, inside and out, and I don't quite know what to say just yet. But... wow.Maybe not the most unique storyline ever for someone who's been on this plane...