Thornhill

Thornhill

Parallel stories set in different times, one told in prose and one in pictures, converge as Ella unravels the mystery of the girl next door.

1982: Mary is a lonely orphan at the Thornhill Institute For Children at the very moment that it's shutting its doors. When her few friends are all adopted or re-homed and she's left to face a volatile bully alone, her revenge will have a lasting effect on the bully, on Mary, and on Thornhill itself.

2016: Ella has just moved to a new town where she knows no one. From her room on the top floor of her new home, she has a perfect view of the dilapidated, abandoned Thornhill Institute across the way, where she glimpses a girl in the window. Determined to befriend the girl, Ella resolves to unravel Thornhill's shadowy past.

Title:Thornhill
Edition Language:English
ISBN:null
Format Type:

About Pam Smy


    Thornhill Reviews

  • Jesse (JesseTheReader)

    I'm kind of bummed out by this one. Maybe I need to let it sit for a little bit before I make a full opinion on it, but at this point I'm feeling severely underwhelmed. I was hoping for a less predict...

  • Mischenko

    To see the full review, please visit https://readrantrockandroll.com/2017/...I’ve been pondering about what to say about this book for days. It took me awhile to see how I felt about the book and I ...

  • Bookdragon Sean

    Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Coraline, this story is haunting, mysterious and touching. Mary is a unique child; she's introverted and very talented, spending most of her time by herself creating ...

  • karen

    an oddly liminal book: somewhere in-between novel and graphic novel, somewhere in-between YA and middle grade, somewhere in-between me liking it and me being indifferent towards it. as a designed phys...

  • Hannah Greendale

    Click here to watch a video review of this book on my channel, From Beginning to Bookend. Thornhill blends a wordless graphic novel with a narrative written in prose to convey a story that tackles dar...

  • April (Aprilius Maximus)

    Creeeeeeeepy. Loved the mix of illustrations and diary entries!...

  • Nat

    “We are the voiceless ones.”Parallel stories set in different times, one told in prose and one in pictures, converge as a girl unravels the mystery of the abandoned Thornhill Institute next door.1...

  • Simon

    So while this book isn't really aimed at my age group I still thought Thornhill was pretty blooming brilliant and deliciously spooky. As someone who loves a big old creepy building this tale of two yo...

  • Erin

    Hurt People, Hurt Other People. Thornhill was not scary to me as an adult but it probably would be to the kids in age demographic it was written for. Thornhill is two stories, the first story is about...

  • ?Emm? - Just the Abyss

    This and other ghostlike reviews on my blog.Thornhill, in which the past and present are webbed together in faded cruelties and a loneliness that runs deep to the heart.A beautiful, but more tragic th...