My Ex-Life

My Ex-Life

The time for Stephen McCauley's breakout novel has come and My Ex-Life is it in a major way. A delicious novel for fans of Tom Perrotta, Maria Semple, and Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney about how sometimes the only way to move forward is to go back.

David Hedges’s life is coming apart at the seams. His job helping San Francisco rich kids get into the colleges of their (parents’) choice is exasperating; his younger boyfriend has left him; and the beloved carriage house he rents is being sold. His solace is a Thai takeout joint that delivers 24/7.

The last person he expects to hear from is Julie Fiske. It’s been decades since they’ve spoken, and he’s relieved to hear she’s recovered from her brief, misguided first marriage. To him.

Julie definitely doesn’t have a problem with marijuana (she’s given it up completely, so it doesn’t matter if she gets stoned almost daily) and the Airbnb she’s running out of her seaside house north of Boston is neither shabby nor illegal. And she has two whole months to come up with the money to buy said house from her second husband before their divorce is finalized. She’d just like David’s help organizing college plans for her 17-year-old daughter.

That would be Mandy. To quote Barry Manilow, Oh Mandy. While she knows she’s smarter than most of the kids in her school, she can’t figure out why she’s making so many incredibly dumb and increasingly dangerous choices.

When David flies east, they find themselves living under the same roof (one David needs to repair). David and Julie pick up exactly where they left off thirty years ago―they’re still best friends who can finish each other’s sentences. But there’s one broken bit between them that no amount of home renovations will fix.

In prose filled with hilarious and heartbreakingly accurate one-liners, Stephen McCauley has written a novel that examines how we define home, family, and love. Be prepared to laugh, shed a few tears, and have thoughts of your own ex-life triggered. (Throw pillows optional.)

Title:My Ex-Life
ISBN:9781250122438
Format Type:

About Stephen McCauley


    My Ex-Life Reviews

  • Larry H

    I'm somewhere between 4 and 4.5 stars.In 1987, I read Stephen McCauley's The Object of My Affection . I fell head over heels in love with that book about the often-blurred lines between love and frie...

  • Victoria

    A smart, sassy and soulful look at lives re imagined with enough one liners to fill a notebook worthy of Oscar Wilde.He knew he was best appreciated in small doses and at great distances, a fact that ...

  • Meredith B.  (readingwithmere)

    4 Stars!This book is exactly what I needed when I picked it up. I've been reading such intense books lately that I need something a little bit on the lighter side. Now, don't get me wrong this was a l...

  • Tooter

    Well that book was a ton of fun! Not my usual genre but I loved this quirky, witty read. ...

  • Gretchen Rubin

    I loved this novel, and am so excited to have discovered Stephen McCauley as a writer. I'm planning to work my way through all his books. This is funny, thought-provoking, and engaging -- with some de...

  • Fred

    This pleasant book about interesting characters in interesting relationships would have earned a higher rating from me had it not been completely ruined for me by the author's undisguised utter loathi...

  • Anmiryam

    Every year there are at least a few entries into a genre I adore and which I call "Modern Gay Comedy of Manners." Last year I fell for Andrew Sean Greer's delicious and heartwarming Less. This year I'...

  • Theresa

    UPDATE: After much self debate and contemplation I did decide to leave a one star rating. I think the way I feel and my inability to stomach this book are valid reasons for the one star rating in this...

  • Sterlingcindysu

    When I read a book of fiction, I hardly ever think that the characters are speaking in the voice and beliefs of the author. But here, that's all I was thinking about. There's zingers about all types o...

  • Katie

    My Ex-Life is fun, witty, and clever. A light summer read with a hint of a darker underlying edge. I definitely laughed out loud a few times while reading this amusing look at the modern family. My Ex...