My Oxford Year

My Oxford Year

Major Motion Picture Already in Development with Temple Hill Entertainment

Set amidst the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the world and the handsome man who introduces her to an incredible love that will irrevocably alter her future—perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.

American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was thirteen: Study at Oxford. At 24, she’s finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when she’s offered an unbelievable position in a rising political star’s presidential campaign. With the promise that she’ll work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, she’s free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is, until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day.

When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford might not be all she’s envisioned. But a late-night drink reveals a connection she wasn’t anticipating finding and what begins as a casual fling soon develops into something much more when Ella learns Jamie has a life-changing secret.

Immediately, Ella is faced with a seemingly impossible decision: turn her back on the man she’s falling in love with to follow her political dreams or be there for him during a trial neither are truly prepared for. As the end of her year in Oxford rapidly approaches, Ella must decide if the dreams she’s always wanted are the same ones she’s now yearning for.

Title:My Oxford Year
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780062740656
Format Type:

About Julia Whelan

Julia Whelan is a screenwriter, life-long actor, and award-winning audiobook narrator. She graduated with a degree in English and Creative Writing from Middlebury College and Oxford University. While in England, her flirtation with tea blossomed into a full-blown love affair, culminating in her eventual certification as a tea master. When not writing her own books, you can find her reading other p


    My Oxford Year Reviews

  • Christy

    5+ stars!!! “The hardest thing is love, with no expiration date, no qualifiers, no safety net. Love that demands acceptance of all things I cannot change. Love that doesn't follow a plan.” My O...

  • Astrid - The Bookish Sweet Tooth

    You know how our expectations are sometimes too high? Or, you expect something completely different and get something else and it's even better than what you were anticipating? It's the best feeling w...

  • Rachel Reads Ravenously

    3 stars This is a book that’s been getting a lot of great buzz, a lot of my book friends really loved it and I’ve been hearing good things all around. I was a fan of Julia on the show Once and Ag...

  • ChristieSHBBblogger

    Title: My Oxford YearSeries: StandaloneAuthor: Julia WhelanRelease date: April 24, 2018Cliffhanger: NoHEA(view spoiler)[HFN (hide spoiler)]Sometimes you just get a gut feeling about a book, and that'...

  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)

    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.Honestly, this was fantastic! I just really loved everything about this delightful story. I know Julia Whelan from her work as a narrator...

  • DJ Sakata

    Favorite Quotes:His voice is so melodious, so low and soothing, it should be accompanied by choral music. Everyone else looks very British about it, like this is where fun comes to die.“Given the lo...

  • Eliza

    ★5 STARS★For American, Ella Durran, attending Oxford University on the prestige Rhodes Scholarship is the culmination of years of hard work and determination. The idea was born during a tumultuo...

  • Jamie-leigh Haughn

    Oh. My heart!! This book took me through every emotion I posses. I initially thought it was a light contemporary book, easy summer reading. Then... half way through the book we get a serious plot twis...

  • Melanie

    ARC provided by HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review.Blog | Instagram | Twitter | Tumblr | Youtube | TwitchBuddy Read with Paloma ❤...

  • Renee

    *6 stars*Still gobsmacked, need to process before writing a coherent review. ...