The Wildflowers

The Wildflowers

The Wildflowers by Harriet Evans is the spellbinding new novel from the Top 5 Sunday Times bestselling author of A Place for Us and The Butterfly Summer. Fans of Kate Morton's The Lake House or Santa Montefiore will delight in this book.

Harriet Evans is 'perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy' Best

Tony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative ... adulterous to the core.

They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea - the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy.

But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in.

My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him ... it comes for us all, sooner or later.

This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside.

Title:The Wildflowers
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781472221377
Format Type:

About Harriet Evans

Facebook page:


    The Wildflowers Reviews

  • Karen

    *4.5 Oh my goodness. What a complex and damaged family the Wildes are. The Wildflowers is an epic family drama, spanning several decades, from 1940 to 2015. Set mainly in Dorset and London, it tells t...

  • Paula Sealey

    A wonderfully captivating family saga, Harriet Evans hits all the right notes here with her evocative writing and superb characters.Acting duo Tony and Althea Wilde and their two children visit their ...

  • Amy

    It’s been way too long since I’ve read a really good family saga, so when the opportunity arose to read The Wildflowers I just had to take it. If you’re looking for a book to really sink your te...

  • Irene

    A theatrical family, a house by the sea and an abandoned girl. Story told by Cordelia, how all the shenanigans affected her adult life. Normally I love family sagas but this was a bit of a struggle fo...

  • Toast

    It started off so well. Then it got really s l o w and self indulgent. The characters became stock - the know it all matyr daughter; the adulterer actor lovey father, the quiet supertalented mother; t...

  • Julie

    A difficult book to review as I found it enchanting yet disappointing at the same time. I loved the setting; 'idyllic' childhood at a Cornish beach house with some larger than life theatrical characte...

  • Liz

    I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with a cast of such deep and complex characters. The tortuous, and sometimes tawdry, relationships between them was quite difficult to keep track of. The consta...

  • Karen Mace

    If you are looking for an epic family drama, full of scandal, regrets and dark secrets then you need this book in your life! The author has created an astonishing family who seem to live an extremely ...

  • Natalie

    To be completely honest, I thought about giving up on this book more than once. But it would be the first book I'd ever given up on. The first 50 - 60% was so slow and some of it seemed so pointless. ...

  • Helen Edwards

    Oh dear, just two stars from me, and I usually love Harriet Evans' books. To be quite honest it took me until I was over 50% of the way through to become interested. I thought about giving up, but as ...