A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings. These are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books’s Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renee Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother’s mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie’s New York Times–bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

Title:A Thousand Beginnings and Endings
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780062671172
Format Type:

About Ellen Oh

Thanks for checking out my author page! I'm no longer checking notifications here on Goodreads but you are welcome to contact me on twitter or my blog and you can find a detailed bio


    A Thousand Beginnings and Endings Reviews

  • Emily May

    This is definitely one of the better YA short story collections I have read. As with all anthologies, some stories are much stronger than others, but I enjoyed far more than I disliked. Plus, it was j...

  • Melanie

    ARC provided by HarperCollins in exchange for an honest review.This is the anthology I’ve been waiting my entire life for. As a Filipina woman, I have no words to express how happy my heart is to ju...

  • Amalia Gavea

    This is a collection I couldn’t wait to start. When I was about eight years old, my grandma bought me a volume of Asian Folk Tales and thus, she opened a window to a world that was exotic, mysteriou...

  • destiny ? [howling libraries]

    We would have been overjoyed to have found this anthology, filled with characters with skin and hair and names more like ours, in our beloved libraries. It’s the book that was missing in our lives ...

  • Hannah Greendale

    DNF at 48%. A Thousand Beginnings and Endings is a collection of short stories that re-imagine South and East Asian myths, penned by fifteen authors tasked with representing their culture. While the m...

  • Natalie Monroe

    3.75 starsI requested A Thousand Beginnings and Endings for one reason and one reason only: Julie Kagawa. Her Talon series crashed and burned, she'll always have a special place in my heart due to The...

  • Alyssa

    5 stars. My heart is full. Special shout-out to the South Asian stories, including Sona Charaipotra's, Aisha Saeed's, Preeti Chhibber's, Rahul Kanakia's, and Shveta Thakrar's. <3 All of the stories in...

  • joanna ? the little brown fairy

    ALERT ALERT ALERTI JUST FOUND OUT THAT THERE IS A FILIPINO STORY IN THIS BOOKas in filipinolike me!!!!i am crying actual tears of joy right now! i've never felt truly represented in any books before a...

  • Elise (TheBookishActress)

    reimagined South Asian folklore! also, anthology! also, what if this cover just murdered me, right where I stand fifteen stories →Forbidden Fruit by Roshani Chokshi← →Olivia’s Table by Alyssa...

  • Delirious Disquisitions

    A Thousand Beginnings and Endings is a collection of short stories or retelling of lesser known Asian folktales and mythologies. Written by Asian writers, the stories cover a wide variety of genres su...