Dear Rachel Maddow

Dear Rachel Maddow

In Adrienne Kisner's Dear Rachel Maddow, a high school girl deals with school politics and life after her brother’s death by drafting emails to MSNBC host Rachel Maddow in this funny and heartfelt YA debut.

Brynn Haper's life has one steadying force--Rachel Maddow.

She watches her daily, and after writing to Rachel for a school project--and actually getting a response--Brynn starts drafting e-mails to Rachel but never sending them. Brynn tells Rachel about breaking up with her first serious girlfriend, about her brother Nick's death, about her passive mother and even worse stepfather, about how she's stuck in remedial courses at school and is considering dropping out.

Then Brynn is confronted with a moral dilemma. One student representative will be allowed to have a voice among the administration in the selection of a new school superintendent. Brynn's archnemesis, Adam, and ex-girlfriend, Sarah, believe only Honors students are worthy of the selection committee seat. Brynn feels all students deserve a voice. When she runs for the position, the knives are out. So she begins to ask herself: What Would Rachel Maddow Do?

Title:Dear Rachel Maddow
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9781250146021
Format Type:

About Adrienne Kisner

Adrienne Kisner has master's and doctorate degrees in theology from Boston University and was inspired by her work with high school and college students to write Dear Rachel Maddow. She is also a graduate of Vermont College of Fine Arts with an MFA in writing for children and young adults. Dear Rachel Maddow is her debut.


    Dear Rachel Maddow Reviews

  • Elise (TheBookishActress)

    not to make this weird but does Rachel Maddow know this book is being published is she proud...

  • Rachael

    ”Nevertheless, they persist. I guess that means I fucking have to, too.” This is bound to be my favorite contemporary of 2018. It’s the perfect blend of emotion, humor, diversity, and politic...

  • Jasmine 🌻

    If you're interested, you could check out the exclusive excerpt, which is an ADORABLENESS OVERLOAD for me, and an ARC giveaway for my friends in the U.S. HERE!!!...

  • kayla ?

    I FEEL SO BAD FOR DNFING THIS BOOK BECAUSE ITS WONDERFUL BUT I'M IN A NON-CONTEMPORARY MOOD AT THE MOMENT SO I'M BARELY ABLE TO GET INTO IT.I'LL PICK THIS BACK UP IN A FEW WEEKS. HOPEFULLY 😭...

  • Stacee

    I am a huge fan of books in epistolary format and I loved the synopsis of this one. Brynn was a great MC. I enjoyed being in her head and reading her struggle was relatable. There’s a pretty big gro...

  • Ava

    Perfect for fans of NICE TRY, JANE SINNER, this is a YA novel about a lesbian girl that's told in a completely unconventional way: in emails written to political journalist Rachel Maddow. I read it a ...

  • Susie Dumond

    When I was a closeted teenage lesbian, trying to figure out how to come out and what to do with my life, Rachel Maddow meant a lot to me. She was smart, and successful, and delightfully nerdy. She mad...

  • Gary Anderson

    In Adrienne Kisner’s debut novel Dear Rachel Maddow, high school isn’t going particularly well for Brynn Harper. Her family barely exists and provides scant support. Her approach to academics has ...

  • Kari

    (Originally posted on my blog at WhatIsMuch!)Thank you to NetGalley and Feiwel & Friends for the ARC to read and review!Happy pride month, everyone! I definitely think it’s fitting that the first bo...

  • Ellen

    “Nevertheless, they persist. I guess that means I fucking have to, too.”Sixteen-year-old Brynn’s life is a mess. Her beloved older brother Nick died of an overdose and her mother and step-father...