Playing with Matches

Playing with Matches

Named a Best Book of Summer by Refinery 29, Bustle, and PopSugar

“The best rom-com of the season…overflowing with charm and heart.”—Bustle

“The perfect Summer read—smart, funny, escapist, and bursting with charm.”—PopSugar

In the tradition of Good in Bed and The Assistants comes a funny and smart comedy about a young matchmaker balancing her messy personal life and the demands of her eccentric clients.

Sasha Goldberg has a lot going for her: a recent journalism degree from NYU, an apartment with her best friend Caroline, and a relationship that would be amazing if her finance-bro boyfriend Jonathan would ever look up from his BlackBerry. But when her dream career falls through, she uses her family’s darkest secret to land a job as a matchmaker for New York City’s elite at the dating service Bliss.

Despite her inexperience, Sasha throws herself into her new career, trolling for catches on Tinder, coaching her clients through rejection, and dishing out dating advice to people twice her age. She sets up a TV exec who wanted kids five years ago, a forty-year-old baseball-loving virgin, and a consultant with a rigorous five-page checklist for her ideal match.

Sasha hopes to find her clients The One, like she did. But when Jonathan betrays her, she spirals out of control—and right into the arms of a writer with a charming Southern drawl, who she had previously set up with one of her clients. He’s strictly off-limits, but with her relationship on the rocks, all bets are off.

Fresh, sweet, and laugh-out-loud funny, Playing with Matches is the addictive story about dating in today’s swipe-heavy society, and a young woman trying to find her own place in the world.

Title:Playing with Matches
ISBN:9781501178481
Format Type:

About Hannah Orenstein

Hannah Orenstein is a writer and editor in New York. She's the dating editor at Elite Daily. Previously, she was a writer at Seventeen.com. At twenty-one, she became the youngest matchmaker at a top dating service. She was born and raised in Boston, studied journalism and history at NYU, and lives in Manhattan with her fat cat, Eloise.


    Playing with Matches Reviews

  • Fafa's Book Corner

    Mini review:Minor spoilers ahead!DNFGR Ultimate Summer Reading Challenge: Let's Get It On. When I had heard about this book through Twitter I was excited! I haven't read a book about matchmaking and t...

  • Nikki (Saturday Nite Reader)

    I was looking for a quick read to breeze through the weekend, and Playing with Matches did not disappoint. Fun and fresh, it makes a perfect vacation read; or, if you need something light to break up ...

  • Sarah Joint

    This is book candy, sweet and easy to savor - but not so sweet it'll hurt your stomach. It was exactly what I needed to read right now and it's a great summer release. There's plenty of cute moments, ...

  • Kristy

    Sasha Goldberg's plans as a writer are quickly derailed when her boss tells her he doesn't have the funds to hire her on after her graduation. She's stuck--in New York City--without a Plan B. When she...

  • Amy

    One of the first things I thought when I started this one was, thank god I don’t have to navigate dating anymore! Back when I was single the internet was in it’s infancy, there were definitely no ...

  • Kendall

    What originally drew me to this book was the title and the cover! Cover gush! <3. I love the matches that are pictures of men! Super cute and oh so true haha. I feel like this would have been the abso...

  • Lisa (Remarkablylisa)

    MY RATING: 4.5/5 STARSI received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.I was captivated by the cover of this book when I first saw it on the Simon and Schuster Instagram stories. ...

  • Crystal King

    What an absolutely fun book this is! I was thrilled to receive an advanced copy of this novel and it did not disappoint. Sasha Goldberg is a matchmaker for an elite dating service, one that specialize...

  • Chandra Claypool (wherethereadergrows)

    3.5 starsLittle did I realize that I had actually seen this author on a panel when I attended an event for Match Made in Manhattan and the Strand Bookstore. I remember her discussing this book and tho...

  • Roshan Berentes

    Playing with Matches is about a fresh-out-of-college New Yorker who tries to make sense of her love life while working at a high-profile match making agency. The book explores the huge societal pressu...