Heart of Fire

Heart of Fire

Join Alice. Private Investigator of the Supernatural.

It has been a rough month for mage private investigator Alice Worth.

Alice hasn’t had a decent night’s sleep in weeks, her relationship with werewolf Sean Maclin is on the rocks, a federal agent hounds her every step, and a powerful vampire whose ulterior motives have ulterior motives watches her every move. It’s enough to drive any woman to drink.

Just when Alice's ghost sidekick Malcolm is about to stage an intervention, her former employer, Mark Dunlap, enlists her help to find out who’s been kidnapping women off the streets. As the list of the missing grows, the city’s anger turns against the vampires, and the Vampire Court hires Mark and Alice to find those responsible. After the case reunites her with Sean, Alice is forced to confront painful demons from her past, as well as the very real demon who wants her dead and the vampire determined to control her power.

When tragedy strikes close to home and a friend’s life hangs in the balance, Alice goes up against the most powerful adversary she’s ever faced in an explosive showdown that will leave Alice and her city forever changed.

“Edmonds’s suspenseful second urban fantasy novel is just as action-packed and entertaining as the first, Heart of Malice. . . . Edmonds has an eye for both detail and entertaining characters, and her story is fun and energetic. . . . Readers will enjoy this installment and look forward to more in the continuing saga of Alice Worth.” - PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY ★★★★★


Q: Why do you write?

A: I've wanted to be a writer since I was five years old and I wrote my first story. My head is always full of stories and it's so wonderful and such a privilege to get to share them with others. I write because I *have* to write and because there's nothing I love to do more. When you write, you get to bring people to life, create a world for them to inhabit, and invite readers to enjoy that world with you. If that's not real magic, I don't know what is.

Q: What books do you write?

A: I want to write the kinds of stories and books that I love to read--lots of adventure, mystery, suspense, action, twists, magic, and of course romance. The Alice Worth series is paranormal mystery set in a world very like our own, but with magic and supernatural beings. I hope readers get caught up in the mysteries and enjoy going on adventures with Alice as she tries to solve them and figure out her place in the world. The reading order follows below.


> HEART OF MALICE (book 1) JUST FOR ONE NIGHT (short story) BLOOD MONEY (novella) HEART OF FIRE (book 2)

Q: Do you use music in your writing?

A: Yes! Each Alice Worth book has a curated playlist of songs featured in the novel, as well as other tunes that enhance your reading experience. Alice loves music and so do I! See the playlists at www.lisaedmonds.com/media/

Be sure to scroll up and hit that BUY NOW button to jump into a world of adventure, mystery, suspense, and of course, romance!

Title:Heart of Fire
Format Type:

About Lisa Edmonds

Lisa Edmonds was born and raised in Kansas. A graduate of Buhler High School, she studied English and forensic criminology at Wichita State University. After acquiring her Bachelor’s degree, she considered a career in law enforcement as a behavioral analyst before earning a Master's from Wichita State and then a Ph.D. in English from Texas A&M University.

    Heart of Fire Reviews

  • Stacey is Sassy

    Go Team MAGS!!!***4.5 Stars***I tell myself constantly not to do this to myself, but somehow, when a book’s calling to me…I MUST ANSWER THE CALL. So, I ended up reading one paranormal romance, whi...

  • Annika

    What a grand sequel to an amazing debut.Non-stop action, mystery, magic and bad-assery, the latter of which mainly stemmed from the heroine, Alice. She's my hero. Despite her over-the-top stubbornness...

  • Carvanz

    What a great following to the first Alice Worth book! I loved this one just as much as Heart of Malice.Alice is called in to help find “working girls” that have disappeared. Along the way she runs...

  • Gwen

    Alice Worth the local lady of mystery, who under severe personal pressure has to balance the desire for revenge and the need to keep her secrets. Of course secrets can only be squeezed so much when yo...

  • Mara

    A classic UF. Not that many around anymore, and it's a pity. Glad I stumbled into this series. ...

  • Stacy

    The Alice Worth series quickly turned into a must-read series for me. Alice is growing away from the loner she was when we first met her. She is still guarded and wary of accepting help, but she is sl...

  • Bookgyrl

    The story picks up a couple of weeks after the ending of book 1. I would advise to read that one first, as not much time is spent on explaining or rehashing what happened in that book and it will leav...

  • Jet

    (No spoilers.) Alice Worth is definitely a flawed character, which is understandable based on her past experiences. I love authors who allow these types of characters to progress in positive ways as a...

  • Jellisa Thomas

    LOVE THE BOOK I got a free copy ebook for early review from BookSprout. I can't wait for the next book. If you another reads wanted to read the book start with Blood Money then Heart of Malice and Jus...

  • Edeena Cross

    Whilst you don't need to read Blood Money before reading Heart of Fire, it really helps give the backstory to Alice's relationship with her mentor. It also gives us more motivation in Malcolm's behavi...