Guess Who

Guess Who

A debut thriller that offers a fresh, modern twist on the classic "locked room" mystery novel, for readers of Noah Hawley and Jeffery Deaver

The rules are simple.

But the game is not.


At eleven years old, Morgan Sheppard solved the murder of a teacher when everyone else believed it to be a suicide. The publicity surrounding the case laid the foundation for his reputation as a modern-day Sherlock Holmes. He parlayed that fame into a gig as TV’s “resident detective,” solving the more typical tawdry daytime talk show mysteries like “Who is the father?” and “Is he cheating?”

Until, that is, Sheppard wakes up handcuffed to a bed in an unfamiliar hotel room. Around him, five strangers are slowly waking up, as well. Soon they discover a corpse in the bathtub and Sheppard is challenged to put his deductive skills to the test. One of the people in the room is the killer. He has three hours to solve the murder. If he doesn’t find the killer, they all will die.

An ingenious, page-turning debut, Chris McGeorge’s Guess Who matches the high-wire plotting of classic “locked room” mysteries into the unstoppable pacing of the modern-day thriller.

Title:Guess Who
ISBN:9781335652829
Format Type:

About Chris McGeorge


    Guess Who Reviews

  • Paromjit

    Chris McGeorge's debut psychological thriller drops the reader into the locked room syndrome with six people amidst whom walks a killer, and a corpse in the bathroom. Morgan Sheppard is a notoriously ...

  • Kendall

    Wow.. Guess Who is an interesting ride! Bringing back Saw ladies and gents........ Let's meet Sheppard.. he's a famous true crime detective who wakes up handcuffed to a bed in a hotel room. Sheppard i...

  • Krystin Rachel (Here's The Fucking Twist)

    Book Blog | BookstagramOpening Hook: Basically a classic Kesha songMain Character: If Maury and Robert Stack had a baby, but that baby was drunk all the timePlot Twisty-ness: Jigsaw would be proudI we...

  • Liz Barnsley

    This is the most fun I’ve had with a crime novel in AGES. It is literally like a game of Guess Who but with blood and death and destruction and a hotel room you just can’t escape from – all the ...

  • Linda Strong

    When Morgan Sheppard wakes up, he finds that he is handcuffed to a bed in a hotel room he's never seen before. All around him are bodies ... 5 of them to be exact ... all living, but just as confused ...

  • Darinda

    A group of strangers awakens in a locked hotel room, and soon discovers a dead body in the room with them. To escape the room, they are tasked with identifying the killer, who is one of them.The main ...

  • Empress Reece (Hooked on Books)

    Whoever is writing the synopses for his books should get a raise! I'm serious I had to read this book like immediately after reading that synopsis. I was a little scared though that it wouldn't live u...

  • Kim ~ Traveling Sister ????

    The story opens up with local celebrity Morgan Sheppard waking handcuffed to a bed in a hotel room with five people he does not know. All five of the people in the room have no idea how they have gott...

  • Dennis

    Saw meets Agatha Christie, in Chris McGeorge's debut tale Guess Who . Morgan Sheppard is a famous television detective, made notorious after figuring out a murder when he was a child. Flash-forward t...

  • Danielle (The Blonde Likes Books)

    Guess Who has an interesting premise, that has been positioned by others as 'Agatha Christie meets Saw', so I was immediately excited. I loved the concept that strangers wake up in a hotel room togeth...